Bodyguards & Assassins (2009)

Synopsis (Thanks Cinema Popular!):

1905, City of Victoria (British Colony of Hong Kong)

In the distance of thirteen blocks, the one man who holds a nation’s fate must survive relentless attempts on his life with only eight bodyguards to protect him. Against hundreds of assassins, these men must put their courage to the test in order to protect the hopes of millions in this perilous night even if it means fighting to the death…

*

I am such a sucker for Chinese History and so are my tear ducts. This is a chilly reminder of how violent wars are and why I am very thankful that most of our lives now aren’t ravaged by war. We should always be thankful for this high level of peace that our countries have and also remember the bloodshed that out forefathers has shed for the better of the future nations.

Ip Mun was a lovely show which I watched seven times and have bought the pirated DVD and also the original. This movie will be the next that deserves the same treatment as Ip Mun. Boy  oh boy, does Donnie Yen looked so much like his character in Ip Mun. In fact, I love his acting chops when they have the kung-fu martial arts in play. I think his exposure to Wing Chai for Ip Mun has made him the best option of a go-to actor with martial arts as his main highlight.

There is this one character in the movie that moved me to my greatest tears. He is a big man (of gargantuan height) although I can’t remember his name but his character was such a impeccable character, I burst out crying when he died. Watch out for him as he left a huge impression on me, literally.

Bodyguards & Assassins get 4.5 out of 5 stars.
I have to be realistic, there were some obvious CGI flaws which were evident and needed some form of better editting. Not perfect scores but doesn’t mean it ain’t good. Bring the tissues too, make it a box of tissues. Trust me when I say that you won’t only cry at the ending.

 

Leave a Reply

