2 0 1 0

Today, as the clock strikes midnight and we usher in the new year, I won’t be joining the throngs of crowds located at the 19 over countdown parties held all around Singapore. Unlike the majority of the Singaporeans out there, I will not be celebrating the dawn of a new year in the company of a thousand and one strangers.

Matter of fact, I am sitting idly at home, waiting for the date clocks around the house to move the year notch from 2009 to 2010. I don’t know, perhaps that is the only kind of celebration that I am seeking this year. And yes, I am spending my new year at home, in the quiet comforts of my Toby and Joby.

(The former is the laptop, the latter is the hamster 🙂 )

I feel very toned down this year as compared to the previous few years where I celebrated the new year with endless fireworks deafening my eyes till and partying till the wee hours of the morning. I feel rather old as compared to the party-going crowd as I have turned down countdown parties planned by the WOW people and some friends as well.  I guess turning 21 has made me become more adult; I have successfully kept to my 2009 resolution to quit the drinking and I am very proud of that as honestly, kicking the habit is the single most hardest thing to curb in my entire life as my weekly schedule revolves heavily on it.

So for this year, I resolute to make it another year that I quit alcohol and also, I would love to be able to carve out a proper career path for myself. Come January 3rd 2010, many things will happen in terms of career-wise and I look forward to it as I think I am ready to put away the past 2009 which was filled with more obstacles than the previous few years. I look forward to better days ahead with the lovely family and although I know the friendships I have now will be severely tested by the distance and time together, I hope the three solid friendships that I have with over in the last few years will be able to withstand the sands of time. Also, I hope the friendships with the other friends be even closer like never before.

Here’s a special dedication to the three most wonderful friends God has bestowed upon me:

To Martian, cheers to the nine-year old friendship, let’s make it to the decade mark next year with a holiday ok? To Hobibelanja, thank you for standing by me from the first day in SHATEC Institutes till now. Also, I really appreciated your presence when I broke up with my ex-boyfriend (and how you offered to come over to my place to be with me then) and when my grandmother passed away (and you stayed with me the entire night and came down straight after school for the funeral); they are all still very fresh in my mind. To Muzzy-Wuzzy, sometimes I think it’s ironic that the boy I tease endlessly happen to actually harbor feelings for me during those school days. Nevertheless, thank you for taking a step out of your comfort zone and being an accidental friend and then some. Looking forward to paaj sal baad!

🙂

Happy New Year 2010 Everyone,
May your new year be filled with nothing but love, love and more love.

XOXO

Leave a Reply

