R2

Officially, today is my Off Day (R2) after slogging it out at a workplace that I barely know. It has gone on well except for some minor hiccups with the higher authorities at work. I guess I should expect to see a few green-eyed people in the outlet when I am a fresh non-McDonald’s crew that has conveniently sat my pretty ass on the managerial post without any earlier experience in the quick-service industry or McDonald’s even. Unless of course, you consider my three-year study at SHATEC Institutes as a form of experience.

Looking back, indeed I come with practically zero knowledge of this specific niche industry. I don’t deny it, I won’t boast being full of those service-providing qualities since I have been grinded into providing a tip-top and exceptional fine-dining experience. So in other words, this experience in the quick-service industry is like throwing me into a pond full of crocodiles when I am used to battling alligators. They both come from the same family but they are different in many ways than one. I’m sure you get my gist. I have acquired skills for one form of service that I do feel a little bit like a fish out of water.

Then again, it didn’t occur to me that I will end up in the quick-service industry. No one expected it, what more me? I was eyeing the events / exhibitions industry and had no prior intention of going back into the F&B line. However, I guess God has set the path for me hence when the offer came about, I didn’t even think for a split second before I signed on the dotted line of the contract. I just signed it and for a good long time, everything seemed to fall into place and everything is right in its place. Have you ever had that kind of feeling before? I know I did throughout my entire mini-journey to McDonald’s-hood.

So far, my working hours revolve around half a day learning a station at work and the other half mugging about McDonald’s. Not an easy feat considering that I am all new and a practical outsider to McDonald’s. However, I pray that things will get better and I hope God will lead me all along the way, like always. I know the last few days is too early to say how I am coping with the job but I think, give me a few weeks more and I’ll hope to say that this is indeed the 1st best decision I’ve made for myself for 2010.

🙂

Good day to you, my fellow readers out there!
XOXO

Leave a Reply

