BS & JJ

My eldest brother decided to surprise me with the huge-st of surprises yesterday. Fresh from the totally traumatic time of burying Joby, he decided to “gift” me with a pair of hamsters, plus a new smaller house for one of the hamsters and the hamster shavings as hamster’s bedding.

Given another situation whereby I get a pair of hamsters the way I want to and so forth, I will definitely be happy. But to say that I am overjoyed at the prospects of overcoming the grieve by having the addition of these two identical Winter Whites does not apply here.

  1. I do not condone the buying of pets. Tell me what does it feel like if you find out that you were bought out of a family for a nominal fee? I prefer adoption.
  2. A pet is not meant to be bought or sold; no two animals have the universal DNA that will make them appeal to all humans. They all have their  ideal owners and I always believe the pet chooses the owner and not the owner chooses the pet.
  3. I am barely on the stage of recovering from the grieving and here I am stuck to take care of two hamsters who do not even have a specific birthdate. Good Lord, how am I supposed to know when are their 1st year birthdays?
  4. At least give me like a few days / hours or minutes to get over the loss of Joby! Gosh, it feels as though I treat Joby like some disposable and replaceable being that is forgotten immediately after he passes on. I know he is just an animal but at least, consider his feelings granted if you were in his shoes.
  5. I did not intend to keep another hamster, what more two? I actually had the intention to give away the cage and buy a new home for a guinea pig. At least they live longer and are large enough to be allowed to roam freely or better still, sleep on the same bed as me the way a dog / cat does.

Listed above are just 5 out of the million reasons why I oppose the purchase of the two hamsters. On top of that, my brother who has zero basic knowledge of hamsters was ripped off by the petshop owner; he got the pair for $40! OMG, I can easily get 4 of the same breed from Pet Lovers’ Centre with that price!

Sometimes turning adult is good. However, its times like these when I wish people will take note of my point of view as ultimately, I am the one caring for these animals, not the buyers. Sure, you may not want to see me moping around like a lost soul but it’s a grieving process that I ought to take. Life isn’t all about a bed of roses, right? I need to expose myself to all the jazz of life as if not, I will never be life-ready should God decide to throw me a few more pitfalls in my life. I know my brother’s intention was good; he wanted me to be happy. But I wish he’d just listen to me when I said no to the prospects of keeping anymore for the short-term.

Let me grieve, keep my mind pre-occupied by work or let me do anything non-hamster related. That was all that I asked for when Joby passed away. A pet’s love is irreplaceable, no matter how many hamsters I buy or get in one lifetime, there ought to be this mutual bond that remains unbreakable even in the eyes of death. That was the kind of bond that Joby & I shared; something that will be largely missing in the puzzle between me and the two new hamsters. By the way, their names are Betty Smith & Joe Jambul. Don’t ask why, the names just flashed across my brain repeatedly and I just had to use them.

Look out for more hamster news in the coming weeks, hopefully, all goes well for them and may they adjust to their new homes soon…

Leave a Reply

