Hallelujah

I’ve heard there was a secret chord,
That David played & it pleased the Lord,
But you don’t really care for music, do you?

It goes like this, the forth, the fifth,
The minor fall, the major lift,
The baffled king composing Hallelujah.

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah.

Your faith was strong but you needed proof,
You saw her bathing on the roof,
Her beauty in the moonlight overthrew you.

She tied you to a kitchen chair,
She broke your throne, she cut your hair,
And from your lips she drew the hallelujah.

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah.

Maybe I’ve been here before,
I know this room, I’ve walked this floor,
I used to live alone before I knew you.

I’ve seen your flag on the marble arch,
Love is not a victory march,
It’s a cold and it’s a broken hallelujah.

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah.

There was a time you’d let me know,
What’s real and going on below,
But now you never show it to me, do you?

Remember when I moved in you,
The holy dark was moving too,
And every breath we drew was hallelujah.

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah.

Maybe there’s a God above,
And all I ever learned from love,
Was how to shoot at someone who outdrew you.

It’s not a cry you can hear at night,
It’s not somebody who’s seen the light,
It’s a cold and it’s a broken hallelujah.

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah.
Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah.

*

When I first heard this song, I thought it was a Christian-themed song but considering how inquisitive I am, I looked into the deeper meaning behind the song and I was immediately moved. I love how Rufus’s voice just sounds so haunting yet gives off the vibe of notoriety. I mean this song may be music to some and poison to others but I listened to it with an open mind and although it did nothing to move me towards another religion, it actually brought me alot closer to mine. Actually this song has got nothing to do with religion to begin with, that is if you bother reading between the lines. Otherwise, take it as one of those songs created just to make you remember who and where your soul and rightful being belongs to at the end of the day.

Hallelujah
by
Rufus Wainwright

ūüôā

Leave a Reply

