A Birthday Letter from Yesteryear

I was purging out old letters from my mailbox and I chanced upon this birthday letter sent by an old suitor (a good few years back) who by far has the most moving words I can only imagine. Wherever you are, I wish you all the kindest the world has to offer you dear one.

*

Dear Madam,                                                                                                        July 4, 2011

I most sincerely wish not to have embarrassed you as such before but I must have

your attention drawn. My feelings will not be suppressed nor will they be laughed at.

I assure you Madam, that I will bow and take my leave with much unsupported

willingness immediately, after I see you open this humbled letter.

 

I see I am not a gentleman of your exquisite taste nor am I a man worth your time but I

am a man honest with himself. I will not stand by and watch you walk away with accusing

me as a horrible fiend when you believe the lie as the truth. I know not how your community

see me as, nor do I care for what they see in me. Your opinions of my conceitedness and

arrogance is by far the greatest flaws I see in me. I cannot thank you more for pointing that

ugly truth of my imperfection to me. However much I hate that side, I cannot simply discard

them for they are what that makes me human.

 

If I may be so bold as to ask for your hand a second time, will you grace me a desirable

answer or would you turn your head in scorn? However, worry no Madam for I will never

ask again. You have my word. I have never felt this way about a woman nor have I felt such

strong feelings since the massacre of my family. I am a beast that  was shaped from the

cruelties of life and the sneering scornful community of the ton. Oh yes, a beast! A fiend! A

horrible arrogant man! That’s who and what I am or so the society believe. Now, believe as

you like for I have defended my honor to my best capabilities.

 

You however, are a beauty to behold. A blossoming rose in a garden of thorns. Graceful

and beautiful… Grace and femininity, you symbolize them perfectly. No, I do not flatter nor

do I praise but I speak the truth as I see it.

 

Forgive me if I have been brash and foul in this letter but I know not the flowery language

to woo you well. I am not a man of communication nor am I a man of such eloquence. I

understand your fury for having been proposed by such un-mannered man.

 

But I pray and wish you the best in life for perhaps you will meet a man of your taste. A man

of your fairy tale, a prince charming, who commands grace and eloquence unlike me who

commands the silent thunder, power and loyalty.

 

God bless you in good health.

 

I bid you adieu, Madam. Goodbye forever.

 

 

Leave a Reply

